2017 LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award

LBJ Foundation | Nov, 8 2017 6:00PM - 7:30PM

L-R: Lloyd Hand, Luci Baines Johnson, David M. Rubenstein, Lynda Johnson Robb, and Cappy McGarr. Photo by Daniel Swartz, DIG14177-126.

On Wednesday, Nov. 8, 2017, at the National Archives in Washington, D.C., the LBJ Foundation awarded their most prestigious prize, the LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award, to philanthropist David M. Rubenstein.

Rubenstein has defined the essence of patriotic philanthropy, helping to preserve the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Declaration of Independence, and many other treasures of American history. He also has donated generously to enhance public education and advance cutting-edge medical treatment and research.

"David Rubenstein has distinguished himself as one of the most grateful and generous Americans of our generation. He embodies the beliefs that President Johnson held dear—that our mission in public service is to serve man and provide opportunity to all," said Larry Temple, chairman of the LBJ Foundation.


The LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award recognizes and honors those who carry on President Lyndon Baines Johnson's legacy and commitment to provide opportunity for all. Previous recipients include President Jimmy Carter, President George H. W. Bush, Rep. John Lewis, Rep. John Dingell, Sen. Carl Levin, Rep. James Clyburn, and former Attorney General Eric Holder.

2017 Event Chairs
Ambassador Lloyd Hand
Cappy McGarr

2017 Honorary Chairs
Honorable Nancy Pelosi
Sharon Percy Rockefeller

2017 Dinner Committee
Honorable Madeleine Albright  |  Elena and Robert Allbritton  |  Adrienne Arsht  |  Honorable Ben Barnes  |  Rita Braver and Robert Barnett  |  Lyndon Boozer  |  Katherine and David Bradley  |  Steve Case  |  Honorable Julián Castro  |  Elizabeth Christian  |  Honorable Tom Daschle  |  Honorable Martin Frost  |  Gahl Burt and Martin Indyk  |  Walter Isaacson  |  Honorable Jay and Sydney Johnson  |  Luci Baines Johnson  |  Tom Johnson  |  Honorable Vernon Jordan  |  Honorable John Kerry  |  Honorable Ron Kirk  |  Melissa Maxfield  |  Honorable Lyndon Olson  |  Joe O’Neill  |  Lynda Johnson Robb  |  Deborah Rutter  |  Victoria and Roger Sant  |  Fred Smith  |  Larry Temple  |  Darren Walker

The 2017 award dinner proceeds benefited The LBJ School Washington Center and its immersive graduate program - creating the leaders of tomorrow.



Nov. 8, 2017: LBJ Liberty & Justice For All Award


FedEx Corporation
Wasserman Foundation

Mr. Robert L. Allbritton and Dr. Elena Allbritton
BP America
Comcast NBCUniversal
Luci Baines Johnson and Ian Turpin
Chuck and Lynda Johnson Robb

Bess, Lyndon and Tyler Abell
Honorable Ben Barnes
BET Networks
Elva and Lawrence O'Brien Family Trust
James A. Johnson
Jacqueline B. Mars
Edward J. Mathias
Janie and Cappy McGarr
Microsoft Corporation
Linda and Joe O'Neill
RFD TV/The Cowboy Channel
Sarah and Ross Perot, Jr. Foundation
Victoria and Roger Sant
Smita N. Shah and Maarten de Jeu
Louann and Larry Temple

The Boeing Company
Katherine and David Bradley
Joseph A. Califano, Jr.
Charter Communications
Honorable Martin Frost
Beth and Wayne Gibbens
Honorable Lloyd and Ann Hand
International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers
Honorable James Jones
King & Spalding
National Beer Wholesalers Association
OPEIU Local 277
Southwest Airlines
Tom & Edwina Johnson Family Foundation
Wine Institute

Get in Touch

For questions or more information about an event at the library, please contact our event team.


Office: (512) 721-0198

Email: events@lbjlibrary.org

Lbj On a fence Sepia

Friends of the LBJ Library

When you become a member of the Friends of the LBJ Library, you'll be making an important contribution to the library's mission -- and to our community. You will also get special access to events.