The LBJ Foundation names Dr. Douglas Kriner as 25th winner of the D.B. Hardeman Prize

May 13, 2014

CONTACT: Ryann Collier, [email protected], 512-499-8009

Kriner Honored at Ceremony at Library of Congress in Washington D.C.

AUSTIN – April 24, 2014 – The Lyndon Baines Johnson (LBJ) Foundation awards the D.B. Hardeman Prize to the author of the most significant book on the U.S. Congress as chosen by the Hardeman Prize Selection Committee. This year, the LBJ Foundation is honoring Dr. Douglas L. Kriner for his book After the Rubicon: Congress, Presidents, and the Politics of Waging War, published by The University of Chicago Press.

The ceremony will take place from 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. on April 30, 2014, in The Members of Congress Room at the Library of Congress. The luncheon is co-hosted by Congressman Joaquín Castro and Congressman Michael McCaul.

After the Rubicon investigates the mechanisms through which Congress shapes the initiation, conduct and duration of major American military actions, even when it fails to write its policy preferences into law. Dr. Kriner is the 25th recipient of the D.B. Hardeman Prize.

The $10,000 D.B. Hardeman Prize is awarded annually to a noteworthy book that focuses on the U.S. Congress, from the fields of biography, history, journalism and political science. Candidates are judged on the importance of their contribution to scholarship on the Congress, and their literary craftsmanship, originality, and depth of research.

D.B. Hardeman served as assistant to legendary Speaker of the House Sam Rayburn of Texas. Mr. Hardeman was also a dedicated student of the Congress, and he bequeathed the seed money to create the annual prize that bears his name. Today the prize is funded by the LBJ Foundation.

Members of the 25th Hardeman Prize Selection Committee are Don Carleton, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History; Jason Casellas, University of Houston; Tom Daschle, DLA Piper; Thomas Mann, The Brookings Institution; Leslie Sanchez, Impacto Group, LLC; Sean Theriault, The University of Texas at Austin; and Nancy Beck Young, University of Houston.

About Dr. Douglas L. Kriner
Dr. Douglas L. Kriner is an Associate Professor of Political Science and the Director of Undergraduate Studies at Boston University. His research interests include American political institutions, separation of powers dynamics, and American military policy-making. Dr. Kriner graduated Phi Beta Kappa from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2001 and received his Ph.D. in Government from Harvard University in 2006.  He is the author (with Francis Shen) of The Casualty Gap: The Causes and Consequences of American Military Policymaking, which documents the emergence of socioeconomic inequalities in who bears the human costs of war and the ramifications of these inequalities for politics and policy making. Currently, Dr. Kriner is working on two book projects, The Particularistic President (with Andrew Reeves and under contract at Cambridge University Press) and Investigating the President (with Eric Schickler).

About the D.B. Hardeman Prize
Since 1980, The Lyndon Baines Johnson Foundation has awarded the D.B. Hardeman Prize for the best book on the U.S. Congress from the fields of history, biography, political science and journalism. D. Barnard Hardeman Jr. was a teacher, politician, and political advisor. He was a member of the Texas legislature before moving to Washington, D.C. in 1957 to serve as assistant to Speaker of the House Sam Rayburn. After Rayburn’s death in 1961, Hardeman worked for Majority Whip Hale Boggs of Louisiana, and in 1964 he was named the first Honorary Congressional Fellow by the American Political Science Association. Hardeman also was a dedicated student of the Congress and bibliophile. Upon his death in 1981, Hardeman bequeathed the seed money to create the prize that bears his name as well as his extensive collection of books on American history and biography to the LBJ Presidential Library. At the time of his death, Hardeman was working on the book Rayburn: A Biography, which was subsequently completed by Donald C. Bacon and published in 1987.