L-R: Larry Temple, Daniel Farias, Patricia Dauphine, Nicholas Dauphine, David Dauphine, Amy Barbee. LBJ Library photo by Lauren Gerson.

High School Student Takes Top Honors in LBJ Library Essay Contest

Mar 17, 2014

Media contact: Anne Wheeler, [email protected]

Office: 512-721-0216, Cell: 512-731-2351

March 17, 2014 Austin TEXAS - Nicholas D. Dauphine, a senior at Claudia Taylor Johnson High School in San Antonio, Texas, has won first prize in the LBJ Library “Civil Rights Today” Essay Contest. Dauphine will be honored on April 8, 2014 at an awards ceremony to take place during the LBJ Civil Rights Summit in Austin for his prize-winning essay entitled “Hispanics – The Forgotten Class in Civil Rights History.”  He will receive a $2,500 award. Dauphine’s sponsoring teacher, Mr. Daniel Farias, will receive a $1,000 award. Read the winning essay at http://www.lbjlibrary.org/education/civil-rights-today-essay-contest/hispanics-the-forgotten-class-in-civil-rights-history

To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the LBJ Foundation developed an essay contest inviting students throughout Texas to write an essay addressing civil rights as an enduring issue in society and one aspect of the Civil Rights Act that impacts the writer’s life today. The essay contest is sponsored by the LBJ Foundation and the LBJ Presidential Library and co-sponsored by the University of Texas at Austin College of Education and The LBJ School of Public Affairs.

“We’re pleased to have given high school seniors this opportunity to reflect on the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and to express ways it has affected their lives,” said Amy Barbee, Executive Director of the LBJ Foundation. “The essays were impressive in their content and personal perspectives. Congratulations to the winners and finalists and to their sponsoring teachers.”

This year, 77 students from 30 high schools and home schools throughout Texas submitted essays to the competition.

Lisa R. Hsi, a senior at Liberal Arts and Science Academy, who submitted an essay entitled “Women’s Rights: The Impact of Title VII on Gender Equality,” was selected as the second place winner in this year’s contest. Hsi will receive a $1,000 prize for this recognition. Three students were recognized as finalists in the competition: Daniel Parrella of Round Rock, TX; Adam R. Iscoe of Austin, TX; and Ariana R. Fischer of Houston, TX. Each finalist will receive a copy of “The Vantage Point – Perspectives of the Presidency 1963-1969,” by Lyndon Baines Johnson.

The winning essay was chosen by a distinguished committee of educators and professionals from the Austin community, including Randy Bomer, Professor, Chair, Department of Curriculum & Instruction, College of Education, University of Texas at Austin; Barbara Cline, Archivist, Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library; Dr. Beth Maloch, Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Teacher Education, Student Affairs and Administration, University of Texas at Austin; Jessica Jolliffe, Austin Independent School District, Administrative Supervisor, Social Studies; Noreen Naseem Rodriguez, Doctoral Student, Social Studies Education, University of Texas at Austin; Patrick Patterson, Assistant Vice President for School Partnership, University Outreach, University of Texas at Austin; Dr. Cinthia Salinas, Associate Professor, Social Studies Education, University of Texas at Austin; Amanda Vickery, Doctoral Candidate Social Studies Education, University of Texas at Austin.

The LBJ Presidential Library, located on the campus of The University of Texas at Austin, is one of thirteen presidential libraries administered by the National Archives and Records Administration. Dedicated in May 1971, it is the nation’s fifth presidential library. Its mission is to preserve and protect the historical materials in its collections and make them readily accessible; to increase public awareness of the American experience through relevant exhibitions and educational programs; and to advance the LBJ Library's standing as a center for intellectual activity and community leadership while meeting the challenges of a changing world.

The Lyndon Baines Johnson Foundation is a non-profit organization that supports the LBJ Presidential Library and the LBJ School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin. Through the fundraising efforts of its Board of Trustees, the Foundation provides support to the Library that enhances quality programming, expands educational outreach and exhibits, and administers grants for researchers and scholars.  The Foundation also raises money for the LBJ School for the outstanding education that it provides its graduate students in public policy and governmental affairs, community outreach, and the exploration of global initiatives.