The D.B. Hardeman Prize

Jun 01, 2006

The $2,500 D.B. Hardeman Prize is awarded annually for the best book that focuses on the U.S. Congress, from the fields of biography, history, journalism, and political science. Candidates are judged on the importance of their contribution to scholarship on the Congress, and their literary craftsmanship, originality, and depth of research.

D.B. Hardeman was a long-time assistant to legendary Speaker of the House Sam Rayburn of Texas. Mr. Hardeman was also a dedicated student of the Congress, and he bequeathed the seed money to create the annual prize that bears his name. Today the prize is funded by the Lyndon B. Johnson Foundation, of Austin.

Members of the Hardeman Prize Committee are: Donald C. Bacon, coeditor of the Encyclopedia of the United States Congress, Dr. Richard A. Baker, Historian of the United States Senate; Dr. Raymond W. Smock, Director of the Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies; and Drs. Andrew Karch, John Sides, and Sean Theriault, of the Government Department, The University of Texas at Austin.

Should your house have published a book in 2006 that you would like to submit for the committee to consider for that year's prize, please send seven copies to Ted Gittinger, LBJ Library, 2313 Red River, Austin, TX, 78705-5702.

The deadline for submission is February 1, 2007.

Previous winners of the Hardeman Prize include:

Richard Fenno, Home Style: House Members in Their Districts

Allen Schick, Congress and Money: Budgeting, Spending, and Taxing

David M. Oshinsky, A Conspiracy So Immense: The World of Joe McCarthy

Paul C. Light, Artful Work: The Politics of Social Security Reform

Christopher H. Foreman, Jr., Signals from the Hill: Congressional Oversight and the Challenge of Social Regulation

Barbara Sinclair, The Transformation of the U.S. Senate

Gilbert C. Fite, Richard B. Russell, Jr., Senator from Georgia

Carol M. Swain, Black Faces, Black Interests: The Represen¬tation of African Americans in Congress

John Jacobs, A Rage for Justice: The Passion and Politics of Phillip Burton

William Lee Miller, Arguing About Slavery: The Great Battle in the United States Congress

Robert V. Remini, Daniel Webster: The Man and His Time

Julian E. Zelizer, Taxing America: Wilbur D. Mills, Congress, and the State, 1945-1975

John A. Farrell, Tip O'Neill and the American Century

Robert Caro, The Years of Lyndon Johnson: Master of the Senate

Michael Ybarra, Washington Gone Crazy