Hardeman Prize-Winning Book Examines the Inner Workings of the U.S. Senate

Aug 01, 2011

(Austin) - Each year the Lyndon Baines Johnson Foundation awards the D. B. Hardeman Prize to the author of the most important book on a congressional topic. For the year 2009, the prize goes to Frances E. Lee, Beyond Ideology: Politics, Principles, and Partnership in the U. S. Senate.

The $2,500 D. B. Hardeman Prize is awarded annually for the best book that focuses on the U.S. Congress, from the fields of biography, history, journalism, and political science. Candidates are judged on the importance of their contribution to scholarship on the Congress, and their literary craftsmanship, originality, and depth of research.

Beyond Ideology is published by The University of Chicago Press. “Beyond Ideology argues that many partisan battles are rooted in competition for power rather than disagreement over the rightful role of government. With the new president pledging to stem the tide of partisan polarization, Beyond Ideology provides a timely taxonomy of exactly what stands in his way.”

Frances E. Lee is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Maryland. She is a previous Hardeman Prize recipient, awarded the honor in 1999 for Sizing up the Senate (co-authored with Bruce I. Oppenhemier.)

D. B. Hardeman was a long-time assistant to legendary Speaker of the House Sam Rayburn of Texas. Mr. Hardeman was also a dedicated student of the Congress, and he bequeathed the seed money to create the annual prize that bears his name. Today the prize is funded by the Lyndon B. Johnson Foundation, of Austin, Texas.

Members of the Hardeman Prize Committee are: Donald C. Bacon, co-editor of the Encyclopedia of the United States Congress; Dr. Betty Koed, Assistant Historian of the United States Senate; Dr. Raymond W. Smock, Director of the Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies; Dr. John Sides, George Washington University; Andrew Karch, University of Minnesota, and Drs. H. W. Brands and Sean Theriault, The University of Texas at Austin.