2015 LBJ Liberty & Justice For All Award

Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, Washington, D.C.
Master of Ceremonies - Gwen Ifill

Awards presented by the Honorable Orrin G. Hatch
and the Honorable John R. Lewis

Honorees  |   Sponsors  |  Honorary and Dinner Committees

On Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2015, the LBJ Foundation awarded the LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award to Congressman James E. Clyburn and former Attorney General Eric Holder for their work in expanding the opportunities for all of our nation’s citizens and carrying forward the legacy of President Lyndon B. Johnson.

The LBJ Liberty & Justice For All Award honors the vision of Lyndon Baines Johnson's presidency and the transformative laws that gave it life: a belief that every citizen should share in the benefits and blessings of the privileges and protections that lie at the heart of the American dream. President Johnson envisioned and devoted his life to creating a nation of justice and liberty, where everyone had the opportunity to rise, and those in need would not fail. His legislative achievements shaped the next half century of our national history, and his legacy endures to benefit future generations of Americans – the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the Fair Housing Act of 1968, Head Start, Medicare, Medicaid, Job Corps, the Clean Air Act, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Humanities, and many more. President Johnson saw his mission as "at once the oldest and most basic in this country: to right wrong, to do justice, to serve man."

The 2015 award dinner net proceeds benefited the new LBJ School of Public Affairs Washington Center.

See the 2015 press release | See the full event photo gallery

First Lady Michelle Obama's Remarks


Congressman James E. Clyburn

James Clyburn Congressman James Clyburn came to Congress in 1993 and during his eleven-term tenure has quickly risen through the ranks of leadership to be the third-ranking Democrat in the House. As a national leader, he has worked to respond to the needs of America's diverse communities through his work on civil rights and the Voter Empowerment Act. As chair of the House Democrats' Democratic Outreach and Engagement Task Force, he has sought to drive new efforts to increase voter participation in the political process 50 years after the enactment of the Voting Rights Act.

James Clyburn has a tireless passion for justice and the bridging of racial and ethnic divides. His commitment to civil rights is longstanding having worked with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. as the leader of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee and helped organize many civil rights marches and demonstrations as a student leader at South Carolina State College. President Barack Obama has said of Congressman Clyburn that he is "one of a handful of people, who when they speak, the entire Congress listens." His legacy as a supporter and protector of civil rights and the Great Society ensures his place as a most worthy recipient of the LBJ Liberty and Justice for All Award.

Eric Holder, Former Attorney General of the United States

Eric Holder Eric Holder's 33-year career serving in the U.S. Justice Department has defined him as a distinguished Attorney General and a great protector of American's civil liberties. Throughout his long and eminent career, Eric Holder has defended some of the most important legislation including voting rights and immigration law and developed the "Smart on Crime Initiative" that largely impacts low-income, minority communities. He has worked alongside four presidents including Reagan, Clinton, and Bush and President Obama.

Appointed to office in 2009, Eric Holder became the first African American Attorney General. President Obama has said, "Through it all he's shown a deep and abiding fidelity to one of our cherished ideals as a people and that is equal justice under the law." Eric Holder's legacy will be felt for years because of his deep commitment to leading civil rights and equal opportunity for all. His civil service career is a testament to the leadership of our country and synonymous with the spirit of the LBJ Liberty and Justice for All Award.

(back to the top)



AT&T Services, Inc.
BET Networks
Lockheed Martin


Comcast NBCUniversal
Elva and Lawrence O'Brien Family Trust



Dr. and Mr. Robert L. Allbritton
Mrs. Barbara B. Allbritton
Honorable Ben Barnes
Eleanor B. Crook
Honorable Lloyd and Ann Hand
Luci Baines Johnson and Ian Turpin
King and Spalding
Honorable and Mrs. Lyndon L. Olson, Jr.
The Lynda Johnson Robb Family
SCANA Corporation
Southern Company
Louann and Larry Temple

Joseph A. Califano, Jr.
Capitol Counsel LLC
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation
Harris County Judge Ed Emmett
Entertainment Software Association
Governor William P. Hobby
Honorable and Mrs. James Jones
International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers
International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers
ManattJones Global Strategies
MGM Resorts International
Motley Rice LLC
National Association of Broadcasters
National Beer Wholesalers Association
Office and Professional Employees International Union 277
Public Strategies Washington, Inc.
John Valenti
Warners Bros. Entertainment Inc.
Wine & Spirits Wholesalers of America
Wine Institute

BNSF Railway
CTIA-The Wireless Association
The Funger Foundation
Beth and Wayne Gibbens
International Paper
Motion Picture Association of America
National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association
Nucor Corporation
Regions Financial Corporation
Univision Communications Inc.
The Walt Disney Company
Washington Government Relations Group

(back to the top)

Texas Honorary Committee

Congressman Joe Barton | Congressman Joaquín Castro | Congressman Henry Cuellar | Congressman Lloyd Doggett | Congresswoman Kay Granger | Congressman Al Green | Congressman Gene Green | Congressman Rubén Hinojosa | Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee | Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson

Dinner Committee

Honorable Ben Barnes | Lyndon K. Boozer | Yolanda Caraway | Carl Davis | Honorable Rodney G. Ellis | Honorable Martin Frost | Honorable Lloyd Hand | Luci Baines Johnson | Honorable Ron Kirk | Marcus Mason | Melissa Maxfield | Joseph P. O’Neill | Florence Prioleau | Robert Raben | Lynda Johnson Robb | Dontai L. Smalls | John Valenti

(back to the top)