=Lady Bird Johnson with family members after she was awarded the Congressional Gold Medal. [LBJ Library photo by Frank Wolfe #D8732-21]

Lady Bird Johnson with family members after she was awarded the Congressional Gold Medal. [LBJ Library photo by Frank Wolfe #D8732-21]

Awards Presented to Lady Bird Johnson

Togetherness Award
Marge Champion, 1958

Humanitarian Award
B’nai B’rith, 1961

Businesswoman’s Award
Business and Professional Women’s Club, 1961

Theta Sigma Phi Citation
Theta Sigma Phi, 1962

Distinguished Achievement Award
Washington Heart Association, 1962

Industry Citation
American Women in Radio & Television, 1963

Humanitarian Citation
Volunteers of America, 1963

Distinguished Alumni Award
The University of Texas Ex-Student Association, 1964

George Foster Peabody Award
For the television program, “A Visit to Washington with Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson on Behalf of a More Beautiful America,” 1966

Eleanor Roosevelt Golden Candlestick Award
Women’s National Press Club, 1968

Damon Woods Memorial Award
The Industrial Designers’ Society of America, 1972

Conservation Service Award
Department of the Interior, 1974

American Legion Distinguished Award
American Legion, 1975

“Woman of the Year” Award for Quality of Life
Ladies Home Journal, 1975

Abraham Lincoln Award
Southern Baptist Convention, 1976

Medal of Freedom
Awarded by President Gerald Ford, 1977

Texas Women’s Hall of Fame

National Achievement Award
American Horticultural Society, 1984

Wildflowers Across America Award of the Year
Garden Writers Association, 1994

Texan of the Year Award
State of Texas, 1985

Lord & Taylor Rose Award

Congressional Gold Medal
Awarded by President Ronald Reagan, 1988

Gold Seal Award for Distinguished Service and Achievement
National Council of State Garden Clubs, 1990

Lone Star Lifestyle Visionary Award
J.C. Penney Company, 1990

Tom Dodd, Jr. Award of Excellence

Star in Our Crown
Victoria Magazine, 1993

Charles Leonard Weddle Memorial Award
Native Plant Society, 1994

Lifetime Achievement Award
Nature Conservancy of Texas, 1994

Texas Federation of Women’s Clubs Award

Earth Day Award
Motorola, 1995

Golden Plate Award
American Academy of Achievement, 1995

National Building Museum Honor Award

Chairman’s Award
National Geographic Society, 1995

Conservation Achievement Award
Southwest Regional Office of the National Park Service, 1995

Award for Distinguished Service
Laurance Spelman Rockefeller Conservation, 1996

Harvey Penick Award
Caritas of Austin, 1996

Environmental Law Institute Award

Star of Texas Preservation Award
Gillespie County Historical Society, 1996

International Award of Excellence
The Botanical Research Institute of Texas (BRIT), 1997

Sue and Frank McBee Visionary Award
The Heritage Society of Austin, 1997

The 39th Annual Freeman Award

The Edith Wharton Achievement Award for Landscape Preservation

Medal for Eminent Contributions and Leadership
Denver Botanic Gardens, 1998

Lifetime Achievement Award
Native Plant Conservation Initiative, 1999

Centennial Award for Conservation
The Texas Audubon Society, 1999

Cornerstone Award
Texas Society of Architects, 2000

Theodore Roosevelt National Park Medal of Honor
National Park Foundation, 2000

The Daughters of the American Revolution Medal of Honor

Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Hall of Fame Award

Edwin P. Hubble Award
Edwin P. Hubble Society, 2004

History Making Texan Award
The Texas State History Museum Foundation, 2005

National Conservation Achievement Award for Conservationist of the Year
National Wildlife Federation, 2005

Lindy Boggs Award
Stennis Center for Public Service, 2005

Cornelius Amory Pugsley Medal
Academy of Park and Recreation Administration and The National Park Foundation, 2005

Elizabeth Craig Weaver Proctor Medal
Garden Club of America, 2006

Humanitarian of the Year
The American Red Cross of Central Texas, 2007

Founders Award
The National Park Foundation, 2007 (awarded posthumously)