View all 3 images

Lynda Bird Johnson Robb, Senator Carl Levin, Luci Baines Johnson, and Senator Jack Reed. Photo by Emily Clack. Congressman John Dingell, Lynda Bird Johnson Robb, Luci Baines Johnson, and Congressman John Lewis. Photo by Emily Clack.

LBJ Liberty & Justice For All Award Dinner

Nov 18, 2014

On Tuesday, November 18, the LBJ Foundation honored Congressman John Dingell and Senator Carl Levin with the LBJ Liberty & Justice for All Award at Newseum in Washington, D.C. Special guests included Congressman John Lewis, Admiral William H. McRaven, and Senator Jack Reed. The Master of Ceremonies was Bob Schieffer. The event's net proceeds will benefit The LBJ School of Public Affairs Washington Center.

View full event gallery

Thank you to the following event sponsors:

Host Sponsors
BP America, General Motors, Nike, and the Knight Foundation

Advocate Sponsors
The Allbritton Foundation, AT&T, Honorable Ben Barnes, Eleanor Crook, DirecTv, Honorable Llyod & Ann Hand, Honorable Bill Hobby, Edwina & Tom Johnson, Orin Kramer, Joshua Levin & Debra Fried Levin, Microsoft Corporation, Honorable Lyndon L. Olson, Jr., Public Strategies Washington, Lynda Johnson Robb, St. David’s HealthCare, Louann & Larry Temple, Tonio Burgos & Associates, Inc., and T-Mobile

Patron Sponsors
Bess & Tyler Abell, AFLAC, Altria Group, BET Networks, Joseph A. Califano, Jr., Rachel & Jim Dunlap, Fluor, Beth & Wayne Gibbens, Hutchins Family Foundation, Inc., Johnson & Johnson, Livingston Kosberg, National Association of Broadcasters, Elva & Larry O’Brien, Audre Rapoport, Verizon, United States Basalt Corporation, United Auto Workers, and The Wine Institute

Believer Sponsors
BabyFirstTV, CMS Energy, Norma Lee & Morton Funger, Amy & Ed Knight, Daniel Levin, Dee & Lawrence Levinson, National Association of Realtors, National Beer Wholesalers Association, Ovation, and Southwest Airlines

- - -

Congressman John Dingell is the longest serving member in the U.S. House of Representatives. His extraordinary career has defined him as a distinguished legislator and great defender of Americans’ civil liberties. Throughout his long congressional career, John Dingell has influenced the passage of some of the most important legislation of the past half century, including Medicare, the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, and the Affordable Care Act. The Congressman stood alongside President Johnson as he signed the historic Civil Rights Act of 1964. His commitment to social justice has been unwavering as evinced more recently by his support for federal hate crime legislation, reauthorization of the Voting Rights Act, comprehensive immigration reform, and the Employee Non-Discrimination Act. Congressman Dingell said, "I consider my votes to advance the Civil Rights movement throughout the 50s and 60s among the most important votes I’ve cast in my nearly 58 years in the House of Representatives. This is about treating all people fairly, with honor, dignity, and respect."

Senator Carl Levin has served 36 years in the U.S. Senate and is known for his bipartisan leadership, insisting legislators reach across the aisle and come together to achieve a nation of justice and liberty. He has long advocated for quality, affordable educational opportunities for all Americans. Evoking President Johnson’s 1965 "We Shall Overcome" speech, Senator Levin recently said, “If we can’t ensure that all Americans have access to higher education, we shut off access to the American dream." As chairman of the Armed Services Committee, he has worked tirelessly to ensure the safety of our country and been a champion for all those who serve in the military. Carl Levin has dedicated his career to exposing injustices and emboldening the oppressed, actively taking on modern day civil rights issues such as the military’s "Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell" policy and same-sex marriage, supporting the 2006 reauthorization of the Voting Rights Act, endorsing the Affordable Care Act, and co-sponsoring the Employee Non-Discrimination Act.

Quick Links

Contact Us

Sarah McCracken
Director of Public Programs
LBJ Presidential Library
2313 Red River St.
Austin, TX 78705
[email protected]

Deborah Arronge
Membership Manager

LBJ Presidential Library
[email protected]

Please be aware that LBJ Presidential Library events may be filmed and/or photographed. Your attendance constitutes your authorization for the LBJ Library to use your photograph, voice, or other likeness for purposes related to the Library, including but not limited to marketing and promotion in both print and electronic forms.